FULL LIST: Sharon Ooja, Wole Ojo nominated for TINFF 2024 Awards

FULL LIST: Sharon Ooja, Wole Ojo nominated for TINFF 2024 Awards
Pls share this post

Listen to this article
Read Later (0)

Login to use this feature or Sign Up to be a part of the gang.

No account yet? Register

The Toronto International Nollywood Film Festival (TINFF) has announced its 2024 nominees and it includes a stellar lineup of Nigerian talent.

Legendary actor Pete Edochie, alongside rising stars Sharon Ooja and Wole Ojo, leads the nominations for the festival’s eighth edition.

TINFF, a multicultural music and film festival, is renowned for celebrating diversity and inclusion. The festival honours filmmakers who advocate for equality, social justice, and understanding through their work.

With competitive categories, live screenings, and an annual awards gala, TINFF is a significant event on the international film calendar, typically held between August and October in Toronto. This year’s ceremony will take place from September 8 to 15.

Pete Edochie, WOle Ojo, Uzor Arukwe, Jimmy Odukoya, Bimbo Manuel, Eso Dike, and Ayo Makun are among the Nigerians nominated for the ‘Best Actor: African Film’ category. Sharon Ooja, Osas Ighodaro, Ireti Doyle, and Bukunmi Oluwashina are contenders for the ‘Best Actress: African Film’ award.

Read also: Flawsome, Òlòturé, and 3 Other Sharon Ooja Movies You Should Stream This Week

Here’s the full list of nominees

TINFF Nominations for African Actors and Films

Best Actor – African Film

  • Emmanuel Ilondior – Foreign Path 2 (Canada)
  • Emmanuel Kabongo – Sway (Canada)
  • Pete Edochie – Nnewi The Land Of Gold (Nigeria)
  • Ayo Makun – Merry Men 3 (Nemesis) (Nigeria)
  • Wole Ojo – Ego Nworji – Tender Hedges (Nigeria)
  • Jimmy Odukoya – I Am Nazzy (Nigeria)
  • Bimbo Manuel – My Name Is Misan (Nigeria)
  • Eso Dike – Why We Never Were (Nigeria)
  • Uzor Arukwe – The Subterfuge (Nigeria – UK)
  • Floyd Igbo – Shaping Us (Nigeria – UK)
  • Mamadou Moustapha – Des Le Debut (Canada)
  • Emmanuel Sabinus Chukwemeka – Dead Serious (Nigeria)
  • James Gardner – Devil Is A Liar
  • Isaac Odeniran – Angry People Of God (UK – Nigeria)

Best Actress – Nollywood Films

  • Tope Olowoniyan – Depth Of Us (Nigeria)
  • Bukunmi Oluwasina – White and Black (Nigeria, UK)
  • Ireti Doyle – Merry Men 3 (Nemesis) (Nigeria)
  • Nadia Buari – Merry Men 3 (Nemesis) (Ghana, Nigeria)
  • Tana Egbo-Adelana – Ego Nworji – Tender Hedges (Nigeria)
  • Omowunmi Dada – L.I.F.E. (Nigeria)
  • Chinonso Arubayi – I Am Nazzy (Nigeria)
  • Blessing Jessica Obasi – The Subterfuge (Nigeria, UK)
  • Kambilia Ofili – Shaping Us (Nigeria)
  • Osas Ighodaro – Love, Lust & Other Things (Nigeria)
  • Sharon Ooja – Dead Serious (Nigeria)
  • Nancy Isime – Move Like A Boss (Nigeria)
  • Yvonne Jegede – Sunset In The North (Nigeria)
READ ALSO  Top 10 stories from across Nigerian Newspapers, Monday, June 24, 2024

Best Film – Nollywood

  • Daddy
  • Mirrors
  • Dangerous Mission
  • Rebellion
  • Survivors
  • The Subterfuge
  • Life
  • Broke and Proud
  • Tarella: Princess Of The Nile
  • Jagun Jagun (The Warrior)
  • Shapin Us
  • Afamefuna
  • Off The Edge
  • Tienes 24 Horas (24 Hours Left) (Spain)
  • 07.03 (7th of the 3rd)
  • Wole Soyinka
  • Love, Lust & Other Things

Best African Female Filmmaker

  • Cordelia Emeh and Biodun Stephen – The Subterfuge (Nigeria/United Kingdom)
  • Claret Onukogu – Dangerous Mission (Nigeria)
  • Doyinsola Ajayi and Linda Marrick – Maki (Nigeria)
  • Chinonso Ngozi Arubayi – I Am Nazzy (Nigeria)
  • Tana Egbo-Adelana – Ego Nworji – Tender Hedges (Nigeria)
  • Lolo Eremie – Tarella: Princess Of The Nile (Nigeria)
  • Chika Sally McKay – Patted Lie (Nigeria)
  • Chinwe Eboh – Nnewi The Land Of Gold (Nigeria)
  • Roberta Orioma – Why We Never Were (Nigeria)
  • Pamela Tendayi Nyeke – Burns and Song (Zimbabwe)

Best Music Video

  • Illusion of Ego (China)
  • Italia (Italy)
  • Shania Twain – Giddy Up (USA)
  • 25 Ifedola Street (Nigeria)
  • Mother’s Love – AAMA KO Mamata (Nepal)
  • Hair (Canada)
  • New Me (USA)
  • Heading For The Light (United Kingdom)
  • Ahora (It Is Now) (Spain)
  • Coyote – Pocho featuring MC Magic (USA)
  • Mama Said (Germany)
  • Me. You. The Sea (Austria)
  • Dobriy Zloy – Sirotkin (Uzbekistan)
  • Raindrops (USA)
  • Gethsemane (Canada)

Best Experimental Film – Short

  • Chekhov (Syria)
  • Wrong Direction (Germany)
  • Blue (China)
  • There Is Fire (France)
  • Barbie, My Angel! (Vietnam)
  • Release Nuclear Contaminated Water (Hong Kong)
  • Olga’s Eyes (Belgium)
  • Tear Of Ixora (Nigeria)
  • Blessed By Sunlight (Kenya & Poland)
  • Repercussions (Netherlands)
  • Elegy (Belgium)
  • Rever (Germany)
  • Paired (Canada)
  • Serial Hunters (Angola)
  • Happy Curly
  • Survival (Nigeria)
READ ALSO  Meet 111 Years Old John Alfred Tinniswood, the Oldest Man in the World 

Stay tuned for more updates as the festival draws near, celebrating the best in Nollywood and global filmmaking talent.


Pls share this post
Previous articleSimi apologizes for wearing swimsuit to poolside event
Next articleDear Ayra Starr, do not be discouraged, international awards are not all that